In order to fulfill the basic functions of our service, the user hereby agrees to allow Xiaomi to collect, process and use personal information which shall include but not be limited to written threads, pictures, comments, replies in the Xiaomi Community, and relevant data types listed in Xiaomi's Private Policy. By selecting "Agree", you agree to Xiaomi's Private Policy and Content Policy .
Agree

Global Fans

[Contest] Hi, I am the Grand Prize Winner of the ShotByMi Competition.

2021-10-21 15:53:18
24930 83
Hi, I hope you have a good day, everyone! Let me tell you how I became the grand prize winner, without further ado.

I am Andrius Venclova from Russia. My father is Lithuanian so my name doesn't sound Russian at all. I am 53 years old. All my life I was making art in different forms including paintings, videos, installations. In recent years I shifted focus to photography. I work as a photography teacher to make a living. Even when I was a schoolboy I had analog cameras with the film which you had to develop and print in the darkroom. In 2003 I bought my first digital camera. It was a Pentax Optio S and it had a resolution of 1,3 megapixels. Now it's very usual but at that time it was amazing that you could take photos and deliver them to the computer instantly, publish them on the web and get some response.

As time was passing by, in 2007 I got my first smartphone. Its camera had the same resolution as my Pentax. I still was making most of my photography with a DSLR camera but my interest in mobile photography begun. In 2018 I purchased a Xiaomi A2 phone. The quality was just amazing. So when I went to London I decided to take it instead of my DSLR camera. There I took a lot of photos. Among them are the long exposure photos which I made on a little tripod from Xiaomi. I started to edit photos right on the phone with the Snapseed app.